Pussies For Peace

This month is always the hardest month of the year for me emotionally, even before Trump came along and made things worse. Almost 12 years ago, February 28th, 2005 to be exact, my brother, Nathaniel, died in a ski accident at the age of 24. So, along with my break from Facebook, I’m finding myself in need of a break from all things political as well. I’m needing to step back and enjoy some of the simpler things in life and remind myself that there is life outside of politics and while I aspire to create change, I can’t do it if I’m not taking care of myself and allowing myself time to deal with my grief.

For those of you in similar positions, here are some things I’ve been doing these past 2 days to help me focus on anything other than our Demagogue Drumph. First, I started a new painting idea called “Pussies for Peace” (I can’t be called out for being offensive anymore since our own POTUS uses the word, right?) where I sketch cute little kittens holding peace signs and paint them. The first of these I completed and I find it absolutely adorable. It makes me smile. I’ll share it here in hopes that it will make you smile too:

IMG_0003.jpg

 

Besides painting, I’ve been binge-watching one of my favorite shows, Supernatural, which, despite having a large conservative following, the cast and writers are very much liberal and support a lot of liberal causes, especially Misha Collins and Kim Rhodes, and, recently, Mark Sheppard. I’ve also begun to go through my clothes to make a “donate” bag of all the clothes I haven’t worn in years. Also, in the works, is a music video based off of a beautiful song, hopefully, I can share that with you soon. And of course, I’ve been snuggling with my cats, who appreciate all the attention they can get.

Creativity, organization, animal snuggling, and watching shows that make me feel good are all good coping skills anyone can use. I also have been trying out this great (free) app called “headspace” to help me meditate. The first 10 sessions are free, but you can repeat those 10 sessions as many times as you want if you don’t feel like buying the app, or just learn the basics and do it yourself without the app. It’s not about clearing all thoughts but allowing thoughts to pass by without needing to stop them and examine them or judge them. It is a great tool when you are feeling overwhelmed.

May you find the activities that bring you peace this week. And if you are in a place where you can continue to fight against the atrocities, please see my previous blog for some ideas.

 

One thought on “Pussies For Peace

Leave a Reply

